Author Topic: PWM Controlled Stir Plate  (Read 4940 times)

Stefan

PWM Controlled Stir Plate
« on: April 23, 2013, 09:59:33 pm »
Hi all,

So, I am a homebrewer and have a stir plate that I built using a PC fan, some magnets and a rheostat. Unfortunately the control is pretty poor with the rheostat and since I have a spare digispark laying about, I thought I'd try and use it as a PWM controller.

So, currently I am using a 5V, 1000 mA output power supply. I might try use a 6V or even a 9V supply at some point but maybe I'll just get it working with what I have.

Is there any way that I can easily hook this up direcly through the digispark and have a PWM pin control this kind of supply? I tried hooking up the fan to the digispark while it was plugged into USB but it didn't work, just made a funny noise ;)

I am fairly new to electronics, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Would another option be to use a transistor and have the PWM signal switch the transistor to open and close the bigger supply? This would be more complicated, would be nice to not have to worry about supplying the digispark and the fan separately.

Here's a quick vid of my stir plate as is...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cb5DdDHUq34

Tommy_2Tall

Re: PWM Controlled Stir Plate
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 11:14:27 pm »
Hi!

You should probably use a transistor for stuff like that.
They are a perfect match for driving fans, lights and other devices that need a little more oomph than the ~10-20 mA a microcontroller can deliver (due to the max source or sink current of the controller pins).

The DigiSpark MOSFET shield should work or if you have some spare transistors and diodes around that can handle the current/power of the fan at max-speed you can do a simple custom shield of your own..

Just don't forget the protection diode(s) if you do it on your own:
When you stop supplying power to the fan is will continue spinning due to inertia of the hub/blades.