Author Topic: Min Max temperature on I2C 16x2 LCD  (Read 12822 times)

Mark

Min Max temperature on I2C 16x2 LCD
« on: February 23, 2013, 12:46:03 am »
This is a project we did for 'TheShed' magazine to show newcomers what can easily be achieved, while providing something practical.

It included a number of bits that could be cut and pasted, and adapted, along with simple coding and plenty of comments.
Included is a scrolling 'window' of 7 characters, that shows a larger message.
I have used it in the past to display error messages.

When I got my Digisparks, this was the first thing I tried, and have taken til now to draw the schematic.
Obviously if you use the LCD shield the 4k7 pullup resistors on the I2C line are already present.

Anyway enjoy.

Mark

gcmm3

Re: Min Max temperature on I2C 16x2 LCD
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2013, 03:57:54 pm »
 Hello Mark, forgive my ignorance, but I am very new to this and wanted  to build something almost exactly  like you have here. Problem I am having is when I compile the code  I keep getting these errors.
"Digi_temp_I2C_LCD_2:62: error: 'OneWire' does not name a type
Digi_temp_I2C_LCD_2:63: error: 'OneWire' does not name a type
Digi_temp_I2C_LCD_2.ino: In function 'void ReadTemp()':
Digi_temp_I2C_LCD_2:175: error: 'ds' was not declared in this scope
Digi_temp_I2C_LCD_2:187: error: 'ds' was not declared in this scope
Digi_temp_I2C_LCD_2.ino: In function 'void findDevices()':
Digi_temp_I2C_LCD_2:442: error: 'ds' was not declared in this scope"
Not sure where to find the info to define the errors so I can get them sorted. I know the first project is always painful, but sure would appreciate any help you have to offer..

Mark

« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2013, 05:09:51 pm »
Greetings ?

You need to have the one wire library in with the others.
I can't recall if its in the IDE or I added it later.

Anyway its attached.
Unzip it into the libraries folder.