Author Topic: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?  (Read 50092 times)

Bluebie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 486
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #30 on: March 13, 2013, 06:44:53 pm »
.hex files have checksums, so it probably isn't garbage, and if it was a html file saved to disk or something like that it wouldn't program it even if it were reading it in raw mode because it would certainly be too big for the chip. I guess truncation is plausible.

XtremeIN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Success, mostly…….
« Reply #31 on: March 14, 2013, 12:17:46 am »
 After reading digistumps post I could not recall using the jumper on the DS that I reflashed using the Windows 7 machine. So, I installed the jumper and plugged it in. After a few seconds it started searching for/installing the driver. After about a minute it had successfully installed drivers and recognized the DS. I then wrote the Starter Sketch to it. After removing the DS and the jumper I reinserted the DS and it works perfectly. THANK YOU everyone for working through this with me.  As far I as I know I did both DS’s the same way only difference was the machine/software.  I am curious if it was me or is there something going on in Vista. Either way, I am just glad to have gotten it to work.  Again, THANK YOU all so very much. Now back to making things blink :) !!!!!!
Micheal
Any suggestions as what to do with the one I "messed up"?
Anyone want to take a crack at it.........

 

Bluebie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 486
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #32 on: March 14, 2013, 12:34:40 am »
Yay! But please keep this thread on topic - only for talking about things specifically related to the jumper bootloader.

Bluebie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 486
Because I am stoopid, I broke all your digisparks. Please install this update ASAP if you've been using any version of the jumper firmware http://digistump.com/board/index.php/topic,960.msg3530.html#new


Previous versions create short circuits, which will break your digisparks sooner or later if not resolved.

Norbert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #34 on: August 14, 2013, 04:40:31 am »
Successfully managed to use the micronucleus-1.06-jumper-v2.hex with my DIY Digispark after some troubles.

the key issue:
-  my fuses bit setting was E1 DD FE which did not work

( changed to E1 5D FE and it works now )

I flashed firmware and fuses with AVR Studio 5.0.1223 and programmer AVRISP mkII ( clone from http://www.ullihome.de/ ) on Windows XP.

ATTENTION:
There is still a dangerous issue with with this version.

If I make the connection between ground and resetpin P5 to activate the bootloader
uploading from Arduino IDE works fine
but
right after the flashing Digispark is starting this new software.

This start must be avoided as the reset pin is still fixed to ground at that moment.
( if your application uses P5 as an output line there will be a problem )

It would be better to restart from scratch ( in this case restart the bootloader )

Bluebie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 486
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #35 on: August 14, 2013, 04:51:22 am »
If you're worried your program will make short circuits when it runs, connect the P5 to ground using a 250 to 2000 Ohm resistor - then the pin in output mode will never source or sink enough current to cause any problems, but it should still be detected correctly. Hope this helps! Modifying the IDE to detect jumper bootloaders and not ask them to launch the program would be too hard I think, and modifying the bootloader to selectively ignore specific commands because of idiosyncracies of how the digispark IDE is configured would be too hacky I think. Resistor seems better. Maybe in some future version of the digispark IDE there will be a setting for if the program should run immediately after upload. It's also possible future versions of the IDE could automatically quick boot the bootloader in to the program to reduce 5 seconds to around 1 second when the IDE is open..  Just kooky ideas for now.


If you're not using arduino stuff, just omit the --run option when running the micronucleus tool and it wont ask the chip to run the app after the upload is done - staying in bootloader forever instead.

jaghvi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #36 on: August 24, 2013, 06:39:53 am »
This is strange
I dont have digispark but a raw attiny85 .I burn this hex file to remove delay of 5 seconds.
When I connect reset pin (pin5) with GND ,it wont detect but if I remove it detects very well.
But now when I upload the sketches I don't have to unplug my circuit and replug it .I can  upload without deplugging it .
and also my fuse settings are e1 ,dd ,fe meaning that my reset pin is disabled ?do i have to enable it ??
I have another attiny85 on which I have set my fuses to be e1,5d,fe ?should I put this hex file on this ??
Thanks bluebie for ur support btw

jaghvi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #37 on: August 24, 2013, 06:52:26 am »
and also if I disconnect the device now and plug it in , my programme doesnt run though my device is detected :'(

Bluebie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 486
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #38 on: August 24, 2013, 07:40:25 am »
The jumper version uses pin 5 - the "reset" pin - so if you install it on to a raw attiny85 which has not been reconfigured to disable the reset pin (so it can be used as IO instead, but cannot be programmed using an ISP device), it should work, but if not reconfigured like that, connecting reset to ground just resets the chip - nothing to do with bootloader. Also note that the clock source must be set to PLL, to get the needed 16mhz clock signal, and ckdiv8 must not be enabled.

jaghvi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #39 on: August 24, 2013, 08:03:52 am »
@bluebie then why now I dont have to unplug the device while programming and neither did I connect reset and ground .I haven't changed the fuses , just that my reset is disabled.
and my clockdiv8 is disabled too.
If unplugged,after replugging  my device does get recognized but digiterm cant read data ,it keeps looking for the device.
http://digistump.com/board/index.php?topic=123.0 this is what fuse settings I have been using for all my projects.


@digistump please tell the details of fuse setting u have used
I  am using l:e1 h:dd e:fe
« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 08:06:05 pm by jm »

digistump

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1465
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #40 on: August 24, 2013, 10:53:50 am »
lfuse:w:0xe1:m -U efuse:w:0xfe:m -U hfuse:w:0x5d:m

jaghvi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #41 on: August 24, 2013, 11:26:08 pm »
1 : was using your previous bootloader 1.05.hex (impatient me ,didn't go through entire forum)
but despite using the upgraded version it didn't work when my fuses were still set to reset enabled (I could programme it with ISP)


But
Now it's working
used upgraded version and set the fuses so that reset is disabled (enabled as i/o)
PS:I removed my 5 seconds delay to read a temp sensor immediately for real time plot :)

germ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #42 on: October 14, 2013, 01:58:36 pm »
So I'm about to put my latest project together. I need to remove the startup delay, and also get the power usage down.
Where do I get the files for the bootloader? The link is rather dead.
Also, if I destroy the power LED, will that break something or save me power?

digistump

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1465
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #43 on: October 14, 2013, 03:33:31 pm »
Link to file: http://digistump.com/board/index.php/topic,960.msg3530.html


Removing the power LED wills ave power, won't break anything - it was designed to allow for removal without aaffecting anyhting else.

bobricius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Is there any way to remove the 5 seconds programming delay at powerup ?
« Reply #44 on: October 14, 2013, 11:43:04 pm »
I tested gemma boot from adafruit .... if is plugged in usb led flashing 10 seconds, if only power is applied program start immediately.