Author Topic: Oak still fails with 0.9.3  (Read 2267 times)

avenue33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Oak still fails with 0.9.3
« on: February 14, 2016, 11:09:34 am »
I went through
to no avail.

The Oak does appear on my router and is listed as ESP_0BE241.
At 51 s, the LED starts blinking quickly.
At 41 s, the LED stops blinking quickly.

The troubleshooting tips provided no solution.

Is there a way to download the system firmware 0.9.3 and upload it to the Oak using the same procedure as for Restoring your Oak to Factory?

I've never faced so difficult a board to configure. This is a clear show-stopper.

Thank you for your help.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2016, 02:01:37 am by avenue33 »

exeng

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
Re: Oak still fails with 0.9.3
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2016, 11:24:35 am »
avenue33,
Did you get the firmware loaded successfully as indicated by the LED flashing 3 times repeatedly? Were you able to connect the Oak as an AP?

I bricked my Oak last night and when through the restore procedure (using an Adafruit FTDI Friend). It all went vary smoothly (first try) except for the cloud check. I think I bailed from OakSoftAP before switching to access my Router but I was able to manually claim the device on particle.io. I did the update from Android phone.

(For Erik)... As far as the bricking went, I was trying (unsuccessfully) to run the NeoPixel stand test using the Adafruit library. Can't be sure but the brick may have occurred after adding a #define ESP8266 at the top of my sketch (because I thought I needed to). Before that I was able to upload, but never got the strandtest to work. Tried Pin 5, and the Pin 4 back to 5 workaround that was previously posted in the NeoPixel topic. Neither worked. Unfortunately, I did not dump the Oak contents before doing the restore.


exeng
« Last Edit: February 14, 2016, 04:08:21 pm by exeng »

cod_segfault

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Oak still fails with 0.9.3
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2016, 11:53:18 am »
+1 for a restore to the latest firmware.  I have had no luck whatsoever getting it to update, and I have even tried doing the whole restore procedure.  I can no longer get it to a state where it checks for updates, so getting off the original firmware to something hopefully more stable would be great.

avenue33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Oak still fails with 0.9.3
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2016, 01:42:12 am »
Thank you for the suggestions.

Quote
Did you get the firmware loaded successfully as indicated by the LED flashing 3 times repeatedly?

I'm not sure to understand your comment. Do you refer to the (1) factory firmware restore or to the (2) system firmware download with the SoftAP Config App?

In case it is (1), here's the output of the restore but the LED doesn't flash thrice.

Code: [Select]
$ python esptool.py --baud 115200 --port /dev/tty.usbserial-AJ02ZCYD write_flash -fs 32m 0x1000 blank.bin 0x2000 oaksetup_restore.bin 0x0081000 oakupdate_restore.bin 0x101000 blank.bin 0x102000 blank.bin 0x202000 blank.bin
Connecting...
Erasing flash...
Wrote 4096 bytes at 0x00001000 in 0.4 seconds (78.9 kbit/s)...
Erasing flash...
Wrote 271360 bytes at 0x00002000 in 29.7 seconds (73.2 kbit/s)...
Erasing flash...
Wrote 258048 bytes at 0x00081000 in 28.2 seconds (73.2 kbit/s)...
Erasing flash...
Wrote 4096 bytes at 0x00101000 in 0.4 seconds (82.0 kbit/s)...
Erasing flash...
Wrote 4096 bytes at 0x00102000 in 0.4 seconds (75.9 kbit/s)...
Erasing flash...
Wrote 4096 bytes at 0x00202000 in 0.4 seconds (78.8 kbit/s)...

Leaving...

Quote
Were you able to connect the Oak as an AP?

Yes, I manage to connect my computer to the ACORN_xxxxxx LAN.

avenue33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Oak still fails with 0.9.3
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2016, 02:03:00 am »
If I perform a

Code: [Select]
$ screen /dev/tty.usbserial-AJ02ZCYD 115200
here's what I get.

Code: [Select]
ets Jan  8 2013,rst cause:4, boot mode:(3,0)

wdt reset
load 0x40100000, len 3632, room 16
tail 0
chksum 0xc0
load 0x3ffe8000, len 352, room 8
tail 8
chksum 0x82
csum 0x82

OakBoot v1 - H,BU,0