Author Topic: I have a working MIDI project using Digispark - I need advice before sharing  (Read 4173 times)

seanb

Greetings to all,

Off the top, I have to mention that I'm totally new to any kind of microcontroller development.

I bought into the Digispark partially because of the low cost, but also because of the tiny footprint. I have several project ideas around using MIDI to extend the features of my musical equipment so i bought the 5-pack and set about making my first project.

It's been a fairly steep learning curve, especially when it came to adding a working MIDI implementation to my first sketch, given the absense of specific information on this for the Digispark.

But now it's done and working, and I'd like to share so that others can have an easier time getting up that curve.

What I have is a working circuit and sketch that supports 2 footswitch inputs and MIDI output.

I have fully prototyped the circuit design, which includes an inverter chip for buffering the MIDI output, and have created a veroboard layout

for a shield where all of the electronics are on a single piece of board, with headers for attaching the switches and the MIDI 5-pin DIN port.

The headers are being recycled from an old motherboard - a personal goal was to keep this as low-cost as possible.

I intend to share the whole thing as a complete project document. This will include:
- veroboard layout showing all components, connections and line-cuts
- pics of the shield build - this is in progress but will be done soon
- the code for the sketch.

So here's what I need before I share the project:

1 What copyright can/should I claim on what i share?
- I have no issues with folk using it freely, I'd just like to suggest that i get a little credit :)
- do i share the shield design and the code of the sketch using the same copyright or are there different standards.