Author Topic: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?  (Read 12943 times)

netguy204

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« on: June 24, 2014, 06:22:25 pm »
I wrote some code that uses everything on the board! Finding a use for the light sensor was a challenge so I made it auto-dim the array if you're in a dark room.

https://gist.github.com/netguy204/7c336bbdbe50113b2abc

Would love to see what others come up with.

jaolen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2014, 10:00:54 am »
What is the beta board? I'm pretty sure my beta board will get here next week if at all - it was supposed to go from Portland -> Denver, and is currently in a sorting facility in Anchorage. :/

netguy204

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2014, 02:42:39 pm »
It's described (lightly) on the Kickstarter page. It has an 8x8 LED matrix, a light sensor, and a 2 axis joystick with integrated pushbutton.


defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2014, 04:56:17 pm »
It is a bag of a parts!  I got mine today!  Looking forward to making it go.

http://digistump.com/wiki/digispark/tutorials/probetashield

Great Topic netguy204 - I saw your code on the WIKI!  Your question popped up TWO ideas for me.  I'll come back with them when I have properly blinking lights.

ubersmack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2014, 10:11:23 pm »
Well I just got it put together.. now to get something running on it..


cheetahkid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2014, 01:13:40 pm »
I got mine today and really is a surprised ;D, now to put things together (first thing first, the blinker to see if it works)

defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2014, 01:55:42 pm »
Added PRO image to the wiki from Kickstarter

http://digistump.com/wiki/digispark/tutorials/headers#assembly

« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 02:29:46 pm by defragster »

netguy204

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2014, 07:10:48 pm »
Ladies and Gentlemen,

I proudly present: BetaInvaders!

https://github.com/netguy204/BetaInvaders/archive/master.zip

Eascen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2014, 01:13:04 pm »
That... is epic, thank you!

wbp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2014, 03:17:23 pm »
I got the BetaBoard sample to run without any problems, but when I try to load Beta Invaders it will not run. As a test I added some code to Setup to light up all the pixels, copied from my working sketch, and that did not run. I started cutting the sketch down in size by removing (commenting) sections of code, and eventually got it to run the code in Setup.

The Invaders sketch isn't that large. Any idea what's going on? Do I have a defective mcu?

wbp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2014, 03:59:49 pm »
Got it working! Had to reduce the array sizes. If I set MAX_ENEMIES 15 and MAX_BULLETS 30 it runs, and the compiler shows 414 bytes of dynamic memory. If I use 15 and 35 (444 bytes) it runs. With 15 and 40 (474 bytes) it fails.

Bug in the IDE? I'll see if there is a new nightly build.

William

defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2014, 04:19:22 pm »
System stack and any libraries may be using ram as well that is getting hit

cheetahkid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2014, 04:22:29 pm »
I got the BetaBoard sample to run and found problem, I found the push button is short circuited and it need a replacement (pushbutton is part of the joystick)  :-\

wbp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2014, 08:19:39 pm »
cheetakid - check that the switch is all the way down against the circuit board. There are only 2 small metal arms that hold the switch in place, and I found they bent easily. If the switch is not pressed down against the board this might cause it to be "pressed" all the time. I hope this helps.
William

cheetahkid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: What are you doing with your Beta Shield?
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2014, 09:39:17 pm »
cheetakid - check that the switch is all the way down against the circuit board. There are only 2 small metal arms that hold the switch in place, and I found they bent easily. If the switch is not pressed down against the board this might cause it to be "pressed" all the time. I hope this helps.
William
I already checked, there a lots of play and nothing is pressed, thank but still s/c