Author Topic: Pro fails to enumerate  (Read 35117 times)

defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #30 on: July 11, 2014, 02:52:26 am »
@Paul_N - is this the 'part' you are seeing off a bit? [beside the 680 resistor] This is my #1 Pro and it seems connected with shiny solder on both ends.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2014, 03:04:40 am by defragster »

gogol

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #31 on: July 11, 2014, 03:45:49 am »
Attaching the front and backside from my pro.
After the test with external zeners/resistors was successful, I tried to bridge pin4 to the solder jumper (assuming that I could fix this way a broken via).
I closed both solder jumpers with a small solder blob, but there must be more defective, as it still gets not recognized.

However I can't see any solder failures like those posted above.  Perhaps some diodes have the wrong orientation, but for all that we need schematics and layout-information :-(

gogol

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #32 on: July 11, 2014, 03:58:14 am »
Watching the board, the parts must be:
  • buck-converter at the top right
  • below at the right end the quartz and the two capacitors for it
  • below the attiny: the two capacitors, filtering the attiny power source
  • above the attiny:  LED and dedicated resistor
  • the bigger black blob close to the USB jack: the USB protection diode
  • below the diode:  zener and serial resistor for USB D+
  • right of the diode: zener and serial resistor for USB D-
  • top right of that: the pullup resistor for USB D-
  • the green blob top of the protection diode:  a resetable fuse ??
  • top left corner:  the voltage LED with resistor

Paul Nicholson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #33 on: July 12, 2014, 09:58:47 pm »
@Paul_N - is this the 'part' you are seeing off a bit? [beside the 680 resistor] This is my #1 Pro and it seems connected with shiny solder on both ends.

@defragster yes, that is the part that is only connected on one side.

defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #34 on: July 13, 2014, 03:47:47 am »
Mine stopped working after many hours of taking uploads (1 or 2 hundred likely), also no power LED flash on reset button (is that expected?)

I get 'USB Device Not Recognized' on win 7 now every time it connects [USB2 and USB3 and UNO works].  Downloaded fresh bootloader and AvrDude

I'm trying some OLED code so I have an UNO right here and I got it to work - after telling it to -F ignore the signature check - avrdude got verification - but same error connecting?  And no power LED flash on reset.  Is it valid to expect the sig check to fail?

Quote
C:\Users\Tim\Documents\Arduino\avrdude>avrdude -p attiny167 -c arduino -P com3 -
U flash:w:ProBootloaderR2.hex:i

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.01s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e950f
avrdude: Expected signature for ATtiny167 is 1E 94 87
         Double check chip, or use -F to override this check.

avrdude done.  Thank you.


C:\Users\Tim\Documents\Arduino\avrdude>avrdude -p attiny167 -c arduino -P com3 -
U flash:w:ProBootloaderR2.hex:i -F

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.01s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e950f
avrdude: Expected signature for ATtiny167 is 1E 94 87
avrdude: NOTE: "flash" memory has been specified, an erase cycle will be perform
ed
         To disable this feature, specify the -D option.
avrdude: erasing chip
avrdude: reading input file "ProBootloaderR2.hex"
avrdude: writing flash (16384 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 0.04s

avrdude: 16384 bytes of flash written
avrdude: verifying flash memory against ProBootloaderR2.hex:
avrdude: load data flash data from input file ProBootloaderR2.hex:
avrdude: input file ProBootloaderR2.hex contains 16384 bytes
avrdude: reading on-chip flash data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.06s

avrdude: verifying ...
avrdude: 16384 bytes of flash verified

avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK (H:00, E:00, L:00)

avrdude done.  Thank you.

gogol

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #35 on: July 14, 2014, 08:52:57 am »
still nothing from digistump? 
I haven't seen him in the board since over a week. No answer to email @support as well.  :-(

defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #36 on: July 14, 2014, 10:34:23 am »
Production and Timeline Update posted Fri 7/1, same day I got my last email from digistump.  But unanswered email since then.

He said moisture in the solder paste stood up my resistors and they usually catch it..

I'm trying to get OLED to work on the PRO and have a 95% solution with graphics.  digistump offered his starting text only libraries and some feedback I needed to get going - then I found a set with graphics that works - except some screen garbage.  I've pelted him with a few emails as I worked and then disabled my PRO  :-[

FourG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #37 on: July 16, 2014, 02:19:09 pm »
I'm trying some OLED code so I have an UNO right here and I got it to work - after telling it to -F ignore the signature check - avrdude got verification - but same error connecting?  And no power LED flash on reset.  Is it valid to expect the sig check to fail?

C:\Users\Tim\Documents\Arduino\avrdude>avrdude -p attiny167 -c arduino -P com3 -U flash:w:ProBootloaderR2.hex:i

I had similar signature issues when I tried to re-program my Pro with my Uno.  It turned out I had to pass a baud rate (-b 19200) to avrdude to make the signature mis-match go away:

avrdude -p attiny167 -c arduino -P [COM PORT OF YOUR ARDUINO] -b 19200 -U flash:w:ProBootloaderR2.hex:i

defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #38 on: July 16, 2014, 04:39:43 pm »
Does your power LED go dark/flash at all when you hit RESET?  I'll have to set up to try again as I still have the unit since I haven't heard from Digistump.  Avrdude confirmed a verify in the end - not sure the garbage in could have equaled the garbage out.

FourG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #39 on: July 16, 2014, 05:57:09 pm »
The power LED on which board, the Pro or the Uno?  I think I also had to bridge the GND and Reset on the Uno with a 10 uF cap after I flashed the programmer sketch to it, per the Arduino Wiki's instructions.

defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #40 on: July 16, 2014, 07:05:45 pm »
Power on the Pro - mine is just on - I was not sure if it was designed to flash off on reset or not.

digistump

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1465
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #41 on: July 17, 2014, 05:26:48 pm »
The LED will not go out on reset - it is hard wired to the 5v line

The uno does have some timing issues sometimes when programming these - setting the baud may help - an avrisp or similar is even better.

I'm catching up on all emails as fast as possible - thank you all for your patience

defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #42 on: July 17, 2014, 07:46:24 pm »
Reconnected UNO and added baud to command line and http://digistump.com/wiki/digispark/tutorials/proisp brought my PRO back to life:

C:{...}\Arduino\avrdude>avrdude -p attiny167 -c arduino -P com3 -b 19200 -U flash:w:ProBootloaderR2.hex:i

thx ;D
« Last Edit: July 17, 2014, 11:43:48 pm by defragster »

digistump

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1465
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #43 on: July 18, 2014, 12:00:04 am »
@defragster - awesome - if by any chance you can duplicate what killed it, that'd be great to see if the new firmware version is as tough as we hope

defragster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
Re: Pro fails to enumerate
« Reply #44 on: July 18, 2014, 12:12:09 am »
I'm on it.  It was the OLED code work - over and over . . .

NOTE: The OLED dot grid is GONE though - so I suspect the bootloader change helped that.  Except right margin garbage still there - the Code I found is running cleaner!  Text can flow over there - but the Clear routine falls short, where it worked on the UNO.

Hoping that means some conflict has been resolved and I won't see it again.