Author Topic: Arduino IDE errors  (Read 7945 times)

bdh

Arduino IDE errors
« on: January 02, 2014, 03:23:41 am »
I have a question about the usability of the Arduino IDE (v1.5.5) as I get a lot of errors when uploading sketches.

I'm relatively new to all this but i've managed to get the DigiX working doing some basic stuff with the Digispark LCD kit and DS18B20 writing the temperature to the LCD.

The problem i'm having is the "Port" option in the "Tools" menu is regularly greyed out and I often see this when I try and upload a sketch:

processing.app.debug.RunnerException: Couldn't find a Board on the selected port. Check that you have the correct port selected.  If it is correct, try pressing the board's reset button after initiating the upload.
   at cc.arduino.packages.uploaders.SerialUploader.waitForUploadPort(SerialUploader.java:213)

<snip/>

I usually press reset, wait a few minutes for the "Port" option to become available again and then re-upload.  This doesn't always work, I often have to reset more than once.

Is this a common problem or is it something I've missed during setup?  It makes it very painful to upload/test code.

I am using Ubuntu (64-bit) and the "arduino-1.5.5-linux64.tgz" from the main website.

digistump

• Administrator
Re: Arduino IDE errors
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2014, 12:50:30 am »
This sounds like something else is trying to use the port - some other threads have mentioned turning off modem manager which might interfere on ubuntu/linux systems.

erix

Re: Arduino IDE errors Linux
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2014, 10:58:55 am »
Hi,

I have almost the same problem. I'm under Linux Ubuntu 12.04 LTS desktop.
Before I started I've already the Arduino IDE 1.0 installed.

So I've downloaded today the last release/version of the Arduino IDE 1.5.5 and installed it.

I've tried to follow the kind of "howto" given by the Digix wiki but it doesn't work very well.

Things I've noticed in my $HOME there are few directories created:
.arduino